Art

Little Creepy People – Jeannie Pappas

I got in Toronto two days ago and I’m feeling so inspired!

I came to participate of the Textile Co-op Summer Residence and do a workshop promoted by them with the UK artist Maxine Sutton! I can’t wait for it to begin!  So during my waiting time I’m walking around the city and visiting some museums and places.

Fortunately today I’ve walked to Queen St, where you can basically find all kinds of shops, stores, needs and people. So on my way I found this lovely gallery/shop called Blue Bird.

I’m getting inside of places that “call” me, otherwise I will be lost in all that crazy amazing places.

What caught my attention inside Blue Bird, besides the jewlery and pottery, were these creepy little sculptures of Jeanni Pappas. They have a small size and don’t look so weird when you see close. But I guess their strange aspect make them more interesting and different from the perfect and standard humanoids characters that we see around. As the artist says:

“My studio practice involves serious and playful endeavors as I meld animal and human fictional and non-fictional features together  to develop specific meaning, symbols and psychological impact. This combination allows greater freedom in the creative process as it straddles real and fictional worlds.”

So if you’re around Toronto you should check this work on Blue Bird at 758 Queen Street West. 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.40.00 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.40.26 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.41.08 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.41.37 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.41.56 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.42.19 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.42.40 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 9.46.21 PM

One thought on “Little Creepy People – Jeannie Pappas

Leave a Reply

